Previous Winners Looking For More At The Classic

When Jamie Veal rolls onto Premier Speedway on Saturday evening, he will be aiming to defend his title of Classic Champion, but there will be also a strong portion of previous winner from the Classic’s 45 years that will be keen to knock him from his perch!

Since 1973 when Zeke Agars was the first driver to be crowned as a Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Champion, collecting the handsome reward of $350.00 for his efforts, there has been a total of 22 other drivers who have been able to say they won the Classic!

Names such as Garry Rush and Danny Smith roll from the tongue with ease having claimed 13 Classic crowns between them, while the likes of Max Dumesny, Brooke Tatnell and Kerry Madsen with three wins apiece are also a major part of Classic folklore.

Of the 23 who have stood atop the podium, Veal will battle for the $30,000 pay day with eight fellow Classic Champions including the trio above along with Garry Brazier, Shane Stewart, Ian Loudoun, two-time Champion Steven Lines and Kyle Hirst.

In fact, the only winner from the last 13 years not to be in attendance will be California’s Tim Kaeding who left an undeniable imprint on the Classic with arguably the greatest celebrations of all time!

Add to the mix of previous winners an extremely hungry trio of previous runners up that includes the current and defending Knoxville Nationals Champion Jason Johnson, Greg Hodnett and Terry McCarl who incidentally is yet to miss an A-Main at any of his Classic attempt.

Add to that list the likes of James McFadden, last year’s third place finisher Robbie Farr, Carson Macedo, World of Outlaws Star Brad Sweet, Cory Eliason, David Murcott, Brian Brown, Dominic Scelzi, Grant Anderson, Sammy Walsh, Harli White and a host of other stars and the 45th Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic has the makings of being one of the best!

All of the action kicks off at 5.00pm on Friday with gates open from 2.00pm (1.30pm for pre-paid ticket holders).

The Classic will again act as a qualifying event for the Speed Sport News World Challenge which will be held during the Knoxville Nationals next August.

The 2017 45th edition of the Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic will be supported by the following sponsors; Oval Express Magazine, KRE Race Engines, The Lady Bay Resort and GJ Gardner Homes.

Twitter: @sungoldstadium
Facebook: Premier Speedway
Instagram: @premierspeedway

End Release.