Harper On Track For Unique Double At Late Model Aussie Title

Reigning Australian Super Sedan National Champion is on track to complete a rare double as he looks to add the Australian Late Model Championship to a resume that already boasts the afore mentioned Super Sedan Crown.

After night one of the 2017 Lucas Oil Australian Late Model Championship at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool, the Tasmanian sits atop the points, having claimed victory in the first of two A-Main events on Preliminary Night.

New South Welshman Tim Bink also ensured he would record a strong-points haul with his second placing behind Harper while Michael Holmes was also impressive in collecting some silverware for his third-place run.

Harpers points tally at the end of the opening night stands at 108, eight points to the good of A-Main 2 winner David Robertson who was dominant throughout the 20-lap final to round out a strong night, as well as announcing himself as a genuine contender for the Championship Crown tomorrow night.

Robertson led home a defiant Paul Stubber, with the throttle-stomping Western Australian excitement machine battling an ailing car for the entire feature event, eventually doing enough to run second, while also finishing fourth in points at the completion of proceedings on night one.

Third place in A-Main 2 went the way of Clayton Pyne, who found the fast-paced racing surface not exactly to his liking, although a third place finish and the mere fact that he sits inside the top six going into tomorrow’s final round of heats may just be the tonic for the likable New South Welshman.

The Australian Championship kicked off with WA’s Craig Vosbergen confirming his standing as a driver to watch this weekend, as he went about setting quick time with a pass of 12.952 second, being the only driver to dip into the 12-second range in qualifying.

Second quick was recorded by David Robertson (13.012), who was followed by Jay Cardy 13.074, Brent Vosbergen 13.215 and David Doherty who rounded out the top five with a lap of 13.223.

The heat race went the way of N29 Ryan Fenech, X4 David Robertson, T22 Callum Harper, W91 Michael Holmes, W31 Paul Stubber, W51 Jamie Oldfield, T6 Brad Smith, N6 Bruce Mackenzie, T22 Callum Harper while the tenth and final heat of the night was won by Nathan Disney in the N11 entry.

The official points standings after Night One are as follows:

1. T22 Callum Harper 108
2. X4 David Robertson 100
3. W91 Michael Holmes 87
4. W31 Paul Stubber 87
5. N41 Tim Bink 84
6. N9 Clayton Pyne 79
7. N25 David Doherty 68
8. N29 Ryan Fenech 66
9. N6 Bruce Mackenzie 59
10. N11 Nathan Disney 59
11. T6 Brad Smith 59
12. Q36 Darren Kane 56
13. W51 Jamie Oldfield 54
14. W8 Craig Vosbergen 53
15. N99 Ben Nicastri 53
16. V40 Mick Hetherington 41
17. Q35 Carter Armstrong 41
18. S5 Luke Raymond 41
19. N65 Barry Kelleher 39
20. W50 Veronica McCann 33
21. S4 Stuey Hill 31
22. W52 Jay Cardy 29
23. V25 Daniel Barton 29
24. N12 Darryl Grimmins 27
25. W41 Kye Blight 27
26. N91 Dean Hickey 27
27. S67 Steve Vaughan 26
28. W4 Brent Vosbergen 28
29. V10 Cameron Pearson 24
30. V32 Wayne Belk 20
31. W19 Simon McNab 19
32. V9 Kristin Vermeulen 19
33. N24 Wade Carter 18
34. AX21 Chevy Edwards 18
35. V8 Fiona Verhoeven 17
36. AX97 Tim McPherson 16
37. Q22 Aaron VanZeeland 15
38. V23 Brendan Hucker 11
39. S36 Ryan Alexander 10
40. V14 Zac Calderwood 9
41. V12 Brock Edwards 7
42. N19 Todd Bayley 6
43. Q99 Brett Watson 6
44. W84 Chris Pavlovich 1
45. Q77 Steve Van Zeeland 0

Tomorrow the teams will return to Premier Speedway for the final night of competition to decide the 2017 Lucas Oil Australian Late Model Championship.

The racing program will consist of one further round of heats, based on points from the opening night with an inversion of six (6). A pole-shuffle will then be contested to determine the top eight (8) starting positions, before a C-Main, B-Main and the 40 lap A-Main are run.

The Junior Sedan Neville Pike Cup will also be held on Saturday along with the Street Stock Go Switch Go event.

Public Gates will open at 4pm with racing getting underway from 5pm.

Twitter: @sungoldstadium
Facebook: Premier Speedway
Instagram: @premierspeedway

End Release.