Parr Motorsports Premier Speedway Track Premiership Up For Grabs

This Sunday night promises to be a huge night of Speedway action at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool when the Eureka Sprintcar Series rolls into town for Night Two of the Labour Day Clash, which also doubles as Round 2 of the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship Chase as presented by Zambrero – Mexican With a Mission.

With Sunday nights A-Main paying a cool $5,000.00 to win, there is also some further added incentive for several drivers who are currently in with a big chance of taking home the Parr Motorsports USC Victoria Premier Speedway Track Premiership, which comes inclusive of a $10,000 pay day come the seasons end!

The battle is on in earnest, with all drivers having their worst round eliminated from their end of season total, the fight for supremacy is sure to continue not only this Sunday night but right through until night three of the Geelong Harley Davidson Easter Sprintcar Trail.

As it currently sits, the 2017 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic runner-up, Darren Mollenoyux has amassed a very impressive 814 points so far, this season, while opening night winner Steven Lines has also been consistent having collected 790 points in the battle for the Parr Motorsports Track Premiership.

The curve balls start to been thrown around when each drivers worst round for the season is removed from the points tally. It is worth noting that each drivers qualifying night for the Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic counts, unless of course it is their lowest score of the season.

When the adjustments to this stage of the season are done, Mollenoyux finds that the points battle intensifies, remembering the likes of 2017 Classic Champion James McFadden and 2016 Classic Champ Jamie Veal missed the Victorian Title night on November 26, due to World Series Sprintcars commitments, meaning they could drop that round from the equation.

Two-Time Australian Champion David Murcott is another who benefits from the ‘drop your worst round’ condition, as he missed the January 1 World Series Sprintcars meeting.

So how does the points battle look as we speak? Well considering the mathematical equations of certain drivers’ worst rounds being maybe yet to come along with matters such as James McFadden’s USA Tour being imminent, the list is sure to take many twists and turns over the final three nights of competition in the Parr Motorsports USC Victoria Premier Speedway Track Premiership.

The current top 10 in the point standings are as follows:

1. W17 James McFadden 738 points – 0 points (worst round) = 738 points.
2. V52 Darren Mollenoyux 814 points – 126 = 688 points.
V35 Jamie Veal 688 points – 0 points = 688 points.
4. W3 Steven Lines 790 points – 104 points = 686 points.
5. V88 David Murcott 658 points – 0 points = 658 points.
6. V90 Corey McCullagh 740 points – 98 points = 642 points.
7. W2 Brooke Tatnell 572 points – 0 points – 572 points.
8. S45 Jake Tranter 558 points – 0 points = 558 points.
9. V70 John Vogels 632 points – 84 points = 548 points.
10. V47 Tim Rankin 536 points – 0 points = 536 points.

So, with three nights of competition remaining, a host of interstate invaders hitting the track at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool this weekend and a maximum of 154 points to be garnished by any one driver on any given night, plus the anticipated changes in certain drivers’ worst rounds, this is going to be one battle that won’t be decided until Easter Sunday night.

No matter what you have planned this Labour Day long weekend, be sure to be at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool this Sunday night with gates opening at 4.00pm with car on track from 5.00pm.

The Sprintcars will be supported by the V8 Dirt Modifieds as well as for the very first time at Premier Speedway – the Legend Cars – will be a part of the show.

Sunday nights admission prices are Adults $25.00; Children 10-15 $10.00 and Children 9 and Under Free.

Tickets are available at the gate or on-line via

End Release.