Veal Wins The Battle, Milburn Wins The War - Just!

Veal Wins The Battle, Milburn Wins The War – Just!

The Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series came to a thrilling conclusion with the incumbent points leader, Brett Milburn was forced to come via the B-Main in the Series finale, before claiming the 2016-17 Crown by just 9 points or one A-Main position after an enthralling night of racing.

The 30 lap A-Main event was won by Jamie Veal who ran the Premier Speedway wall to perfection before switching to a preferred low line groove in the second half of the final, holding of a determined Grant Anderson, who once again showed why he is regarded as a genuine star of the Sprintcar division, especially on a slick and smooth surface such as that laid down tonight at Sungold Stadium.

Darren Mollenoyux’s amazing run of form continued with yet another impressive drive, finishing third, with Jack Lee also producing a strong night at the office with a fourth-place finish.

Amazingly the top four drivers were all out of contention for the Eureka Series Championship, so when Tim Van Ginneken appeared in fifth and needing to finish seven positions clear of Milburn to snatch the Championship be one single point, the head count was on in earnest.

With Milburn, having started from position 14 on the grid and Van Ginneken from 10, it was Van Ginneken who had to try and run and hide and to a degree he did, making his way to fifth by mid race distance, but once he reached that point, the margin between he and fourth placed Jack Lee barely changed.

So, with Veal and Anderson continuing to slice their way through lap traffic, it was Veal who held sway at the fall of the checkered flag leading home Anderson and Mollenoyux, with Lee and Van Ginneken rounding out the top five.

Young South Aussie Jake Tranter impressed as he finished in sixth, while Corey McCullagh would once again claim a top ten finish, with a seventh place run ahead of fellow top ten finishers Ian Loudoun, David Murcott and Brayden Parr.

Brett Milburn was officially credited with 11th, being enough to clinch the Eureka Series, while Tim Rankin 12th, Glen Sutherland 13th, Rusty Hickman 14th, Daniel Sayre 15th, Charles Hunter 16th, Jacob Smith 17th and Tim Hutchins 18th rounded out the field.

The B-Main was won by Ian Loudoun from Milburn, Jacob Smith, Daniel Sayre, David Murcott and Rusty Hickman, while the last chance C-Main went to Chad Ely from Adam King, James Gardiner and Jordyn Charge.

Earlier in the night some the heat racing certainly treated the fans on the hill, with heat wins going to Grant Anderson, Jamie Veal, Brayden Parr, Darren Mollenoyux, Daniel Sayre, Eddie Lumbar and Corey McCullagh while Mollenoyux backed up his earlier heat win with another in the final heat of the night.

Eureka Garages and Sheds Top Ten (Final Standings):

1. V68 Brett Milburn 4530 points.
2. V36 Tim Van Ginneken 4521 points.
3. V90 Corey McCullagh 4352 points.
4. V77 Brayden Parr 4248 points.
5. S20 Glen Sutherland 4137 points.
6. V17 Dennis Jones 3717 points.
7. V72 Jacob Smith 3458 points.
8. V84 Sam Wren 3413 points.
9. V88 David Murcott 3346 points.
10. V73 Charles Hunter 3293 points.

The Wingless Sprints were also a part of a huge night of racing and Luke Weel (V28) totally outclassed the A-Main field to record a runaway win, to not only collect the round win but also claim the Super Series Crown for 2016-17.

Weel’s win cam ahead of Geoff Cook (V95) and Warwick Taylor (V40) who also impressed many with his charge from position 11 on the grid.

The top three were followed by Daniel Storer (V43), and Peter Logue (V98) with the top ten be rounded out by Carly Walsh (V4), Nikki Briton who made the haul from Sydney in the N6 entry, the V33 of Luke Storer, Jason Langdon in the V78 who like Briton qualified for the A-Main via one of two B-Mains, with the top ten rounded out by Bhoe Paterson (V45) who claimed the final B-Main transfer spot to start from position 20 before charging through the pack.

The Wingless Sprint heat race winners were Luke Storer (V33), Robert Heard (S57), Luke Weel (V28), Marcus Green (V61), Travis Millar (V2), Rhys Baxter (V81), Luke Weel (V28) and Geoff Cook (V95).

The Wingless Sprint B-Mains were taken out by Jason Langdon (V78) and Nikki Briton.

The next event at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool is Night 3 of the Geelong Harley Davidson Easter Sprintcar Trail on Sunday April 16, featuring the Super Rod Cup and a Massive Fireworks Display.

End Release.