Premier Speedway Kicks Off Tomorrow As Big Names Enter Classic

Round 3 of the Eureka Sprintcar Series will headline the opening night of action at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool tomorrow night (November 4) as a part of the Parr Motorsports Sprintcar Track Premiership.

The Yeoman Williams Memorial for Junior Sedans will also be a part of what promises to be an action-packed program of racing, with a field of nearly 50 Sprintcars set to sign on for duty.

Several Big-Name drivers and teams have also this week indicated that they are preparing for a tilt at Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic glory later in the season (January 19-21).

Headlining the list is a driver who boasts an impressive Classic CV. Altoona Iowa’s Terry McCarl will once again return to Australian shores to contest the Classic, teaming up again with Darley, Victoria based car owner Ken Hutchins.

McCarl and Hutchins teamed together successfully last summer where McCarl managed a 14th place finish from the 100 plus car field in the Classic. There 2018 assault on the Classic will see Hutchins unveil a unique paint scheme with the team to be supported by Laiken Transport.

Darwin’s Ben Atkinson is another of the big-name drivers to commit to Classic duties early.

Having finished 22nd in the 2017 Classic finale, Atkinson will be aboard the Aeroflow Performance Products, Rocket Industries, System Homes, Mass Drill and Blast 2D entry.

Another driver who in recent seasons has enjoyed considerably good results at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool is Albury’s Grant Anderson.

Anderson qualified for the B-Main in 2017, starting from position 15 before almost making the transfer to the A-Main, eventually falling just two spots shy of a transfer with his sixth-place finish.

The second-generation hard charger will have gained some invaluable experience from his recent sojourn to the United States where he impressed amongst the tough Californian Sprint Car scene.

For his 2018 campaign Grant will enjoy some strong support from long time partners Latrobe Valley Bandag, WASP Steering and Suspension, D&F Racing Products, Bockman Batteries and Townsend Service Centre.

Shaun Dobson is another of the relative young guns with his eye on the prize come Classic weekend.

Splitting his time during the 2017-18 season between his family backed number 21 and the David Dickson backed V3 teams, Dobson will partner Dickson for a tilt at the 2018 Classic.

Having finished 18th in B-main 2 during 2017, Dobson will fancy his chances of putting the V3 in the Classic final come January 21 for popular car owner David Dickson.

The team will have all the go-fast parts with thanks to Big Wheels Truck Alignments and Road and River Motorcycles.

Western Australia’s Scott Reilly, may hail from Gidgegannup, but it his friendship and partnership with Camperdown Victoria’s Gerard and Marlin Walsh that will se him base a majority of his racing out of the Garden State again for the 2017-18 season.

A hard charging throttle stomper in every sense, Reilly will again campaign his own W18 entry with thanks to Komcat Electro. Dieselcraft, Pipe Craft and Butchers Cut Cobden.

The 2018 46th edition of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic will be supported by the following sponsors; Performance Racegear, KRE Race Engines, The Lady Bay Resort and KFC.

Copies of the 2018 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic entry form have been forwarded to the 2017 entrants while a PDF version is available for download from the Premier Speedway website

Gates will open at 4.00pm tomorrow with cars on track at 5.00pm. For more information please see the Calendar Tab of the Premier Speedway website.

End Release.