Trio of South Aussies Adds Class to Vic Title Field

South Australian duo Brad Keller and Ryan Jones have added their names to the entry list for this Saturday nights Victorian Sprintcar Title at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool as presented by Go Traffic.

Keller, who will pilot his familiar James Rosenberg Racing / Brad Keller Racing, Shadetec S19, in what will prove to be yet another invaluable hit out for the 2017-18 World Series Sprintcars contracted driver.

Four-time Australian 360 Sprintcar Champion, Jones, needs no introduction to Victorian Race Fans, having himself been a contracted World Series Sprintcars Driver and a regular visitor to Premier Speedway.

Chad Ely who will be at the wheel of the Jamie Stark owned S72 car, is another former Australian 360 Sprintcar Champion and will be most determined to add some more silverware to his trophy cabinet this weekend.

Since Ron Clark claimed the first Victorian Sprintcar Title back in 1968, there have only 25 different drivers who have claimed the right to be crowned as Victorian Champion.

Since claiming his first Title in 1984, the legendary Max Dumesny has claimed nine wins, the most recent being in 2002. Ron Smith is next on the list after he too enjoyed a golden run during the 1970’s where he tasted success with a hat-trick of victories from 1970-72, before returning to the top step of the podium again in 1974 and 1975.

David Anderson and Garry Brazier both secured a hat-trick of wins as well, with Anderson saluting in 1996, 97 and 98, while Brazier enjoyed his golden run from 1993 to 1995.

This weekend, five drivers will try to add their names to the record books for a second time, with David Murcott (2006), Tim Rankin (2011), Darren Mollenoyux (2013), Daniel Pestka (2015) and last years winner Aidan Hall all aiming to collect a second Victorian Title.

Of the entrants for this weekend, both Grant Anderson and Jamie Veal will be trying to emulate the deeds of their fathers, in becoming Victorian Champions, with David Anderson as mentioned above being a three-time winner, while Ken Veal was able to claim his maiden Victorian Title back in 1991.

This weekend’s entry list is a star-studded line-up with Keller, Jones and Ely set to be joined by Veal, Anderson, Mollenoyux, Murcott, Rankin, Hall, Pestka, while Ben Atkinson, Brett Milburn, Corey McCullagh, Jye O’Keeffe and current Western Australian and Northern Territory State Champ Tim Van Ginneken will be in the field which is rapidly approaching 50 cars.

All drivers in the Victorian Sprintcar Title will be vying for the Graeme McCubbin Trophy which is named in honor of the highly respected two-time Victorian Champion.

Public gates will open at 4.00pm with cars on-track from 5.00pm. The Formula 500 Jack Willsher Cup will run in conjunction with the Victorian Sprintcar Title, with more than 30 entries, including the defending Jack Willsher Cup winner and current Aussie Champion Liam Williams headlining an impressive entry list.

Admission is: Adults $27.00; Concession $22.00 (Aged, Disability and VA only), Children 10-15 $10.00; Children 9 and Under are Free.

Victorian Sprintcar Champions:

1968 Ron Clark
1969 Bill Willis
1970 Ron Smith
1971 Ron Smith
1972 Ron Smith
1973 Dave Conlin
1974 Ron Smith
1975 Ron Smith
1976-77 Les Harrower
1977-78 Bill Wigzell
1978-79 Graeme McCubbin
1979-80 Graeme McCubbin
1981 Daryl Jago
1982 Garry Rush
1983 Bill Barrows
1984 Max Dumesny
1985 Danny Smith
1986 Ian Lewis
1987 Max Dumesny
1988 Brett Lacey
1989 Max Dumesny
1990 Max Dumesny
1991 Ken Veal
1992 Max Dumesny
1993 Garry Brazier
1994 Garry Brazier
1995 Garry Brazier
1996 David Anderson
1997 David Anderson
1998 David Anderson
1999 Max Dumesny
2000 Max Dumesny
2001 Max Dumesny
2002 Max Dumesny
2003 Kurt Winker
2004 Ken Satori
2005 Robbie Farr
2006 David Murcott
2007 Matthew Reed
2008 John Vogels
2009 Matthew Reed
2010 Stephen Bell
2011 Tim Rankin
2012 Stephen Bell & Robbie Farr (Dead Heat)
2013 Darren Mollenoyux
2014 Kyle Hirst
2015 Daniel Pestka
2016 John Vogels
2017 Aidan Hall

2017 Victorian Sprintcar Title Entry List:

D2 Ben Atkinson
NT2 Damian Throne
S4 Lisa Walker
T7 Tim Hutchins
V8 Bobby Daly
V9 Rod Matthews
S13 Brock Hallett
V14 Chris Rodda
S14 Brendan Quinn
S15 Aidan Hall
V17 Dennis Jones
VA18 Scott Reilly
S19 Brad Keller
S20 Glen Sutherland
V22 Terry Rankin
W25 Taylor Milling
S27 Daniel Pestka
V28 Andrew Hughes
V32 Stephen Spark
V35 Jamie Veal
V36 Tim Van Ginneken
V37 Grant Anderson
V42 Jye O'Keeffe
V45 Mike Van Bremen
S45 Jake Tranter
V47 Tim Rankin
V48 Adam King
V52 Darren Mollenoyux
V58 Rhiannon Burleigh
V59 Chris Heard
V60 Jordyn Charge
V61 Robert Nicholas
S63 Ryan Jones
V67 Luke Walker
V68 Brett Milburn
S71 Sam Putland
S72 Chad Ely
V72 Jacob Smith
V73 Charles Hunter
V75 Nigel Harding
V77 Brayden Parr
VA81 Rhys Baxter
V81 Robbie Paton
V88 David Murcott
VA88 Grant Stansfield
V90 Corey McCullagh
W96 Aldo DePaoli
V98 Peter Doukas

End Release.