Vic Title Prestige On The Line At Premier Speedway January 1-59550

Vic Title Prestige On The Line At Premier Speedway January 1

Drivers contesting the Victorian Sprintcar Title at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool this Saturday night will be vying for the honour of taking home the coveted Graeme McCubbin Trophy as presented annually to the Victorian Champion.

With a field of more than 50-cars all set to try and prize the McCubbin Trophy from defending Champion Jamie Veal, the action is sure to be red hot come New Years Day.

Graeme McCubbin won the Australian Sprintcar Championship in 1972 at Premier Speedway, the Championship that led the Premier Speedway Club to introduce the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic as a staple on the Australian Speedway scene.

In doing so, McCubbin became the second Victorian to claim the Australian Championship, after Bill Willis saluted in 1963, with McCubbin also securing two runner up finishes in 1975 (Archerfield Speedway) and 1976 (Latrobe Speedway), as well as a trio of third place results in 1963, 1965 and 1980.

Graeme McCubbin was a part of an era that forged a path for our modern day Sprintcar Stars, such as his fellow Australian Champions David Murcott, James McFadden and Jamie Veal all of whom are a part of the entry list for Saturday.

They will also have a hungry pack chasing them with American Carson Macedo, Steven Lines, Grant Anderson, Corey McCullagh, Darren Mollenoyux, Marcus Dumesny, Daniel Pestka, Rusty Hickman, Ryan Jones, Tate Frost and Mathew Dumesny all eager to stand atop the podium on Saturday night.

The on track action as presented by Fresha Fruit Juice as a part of the Total Tools Warrnambool Track Championship as presented by Fitz Media and the Midfield Group will get underway from 5.30pm with public gates set to open at 3pm.

The Junior Sedan Neville Pike Cup will also be a part of the action with a very strong field of cars set to vie for top honour's as a part of the program.

Major Sponsors