World Series Sprintcars has been a regular event on the Premier Speedway calendar ever since its inception in 1987, with the Warrnambool based venue having been an integral part of the series, playing a key role in the prestigious Speedweek leg of the National Tour since its introduction.

The now traditional New Year's Day visit by the travelling Stars of Sprintcar racing is one of the must see events at Premier Speedway each and every season, with five-time Australian Champion Brooke Tatnell claiming victory on January 1, 2016, walking away with a $10,000.00 pay day just ahead of the hard charging duo of Jamie Veal and Steven Lines.

Tatnell's father George, was the inaugural World Series Sprintcars Champion in the summer of 1987-88, a feat he repeated the following season. Brooke however has gone on to become a nine-time World Series Sprintcars Champion, while Max Dumesny has claimed an equally impressive seven championships. Daryn Pittman is the only American driver to have claimed a World Series Sprintcars Championship, having tasted victory in 2002-03.

The 2016-17 Champion was James McFadden.