Posted by Michael
Posted on 10 Apr, 2023


Current Australian Champion Jock Goodyer took the feature win and the Easter Trail series win at Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway on Easter Sunday presented by WMI Feeders.

A solid field of twenty-nine Sprintcars competed on a cold and at times wet evening which resulted in challenging conditions for drivers and ultra fast lap times throughout the evening with Goodyer lapping in the 10-second bracket during the A-Main.

Goodyer led every lap of the 30 lap main with an impressive drive from Jake Smith to qualify on the front row of the feature and hold down second place all race long. Local Will Carroll who has shown great form of late finished third with Daniel Pestka and Cameron Waters who is now looking very comfortable in a Sprintcar finishing fourth and fifth respectively. The top ten was rounded out by Tasmanian Tim Hutchins, Jack Lee, Grant Stansfield, Dennis Jones and South Australian Scott Enderl.

Goodyer set the tone early, setting the fastest time in his qualifying group and then taking a heat win in his second heat to earn the pole starting position for the 30 lap A-Main.

The combined Hot Lap and Time Trial session saw the majority of times in the 10 second bracket with Jordyn Charge and Jett Bell both in the nine-second bracket.

Jordyn Charge in only his second outing in the Ken and Benissa Hutchins owned car set a new one lap track record with a blistering 9:943 second lap, eclipsing the previous record of 9:963 held by Jamie Veal.

The Easter Sunday event was also the final round of the Sprintcar Easter Trail. After enduring rain affected events at both Avalon Raceway, Lara and Borderline Speedway, Mount Gambier drivers entered the final round with no points having been allocated. As the points awarded at Premier Speedway feature would determine the placegetters for the series prize pool, management of the venues decided that under the circumstances to be eligible for the series prize pool drivers had to have competed at each of the three rounds.

Tasmanian Jock Goodyer with the feature win was awarded the 2023 Easter Sprintcar Trail series winner. Jake Smith took second, Daniel Pestka third with Tim Hutchins and Grant Stansfield rounding out the top five and series prize pool recipients.

Portland’s Brock Hallett, the current ‘Classic’ Champion crashed out in the feature but had accumulated sufficient points by virtue of qualifying into the main event to seal the Total Tools Warrnambool Sprintcar Track Championship and the $10,000 first pace prize.

Hallett came into the round in second place but with points leader, Lochie McHugh not attending due to racing commitments in Queensland, it opened the door for Hallett to take the 2022/23 crown. Tasmanian Tate Frost jumped from fourth to finish second with McHugh finishing in third place in the season long Championship.

Super Rods and Late Models featured on the Easter program with Stan Marco Jnr. Taking the feature win, winning both his heats along the way. Pitcher father and son filled the podium position with son Jacob Pitcher, current Victorian Champion finishing second and father Alan Pitcher completing the podium.

Premier Speedway wishes to thank the attending Late Models for being part of the event and for their help during the evening and apologise for their feature not being run.

The Easter Sunday event was the final event on the 2022/23 Season calendar. Thank you to all our volunteers and patrons for their support of the Premier Speedway Club.

At this time Premier Speedway would like to thank our major partners across the season Sungold Milk, Warrnambool ISUZU, Total Tools Warrnambool, South West Conveyancing, KFC along with all the venue partners who contribute to the success of the venue.

We look forward to a fantastic 2023/24 Season which will kick off in November. Stay tuned for the release of our 2023/24 event calendar shortly.

Photos thanks to Corey Gibson Photography.


Ends release.