Posted by Michael
Posted on 5 Nov, 2023

The opening night of racing for the 2023-24 season at Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway presented by Warrnambool Offroad and ARB commenced with three of the best drivers in Australia claiming the major victories.

Jock Goodyer, Lockie McHugh and Kye Walters took the wins and all showed they’ll be hard to beat in a busy few months ahead.

Reigning Australian Sprintcar champion Goodyer was again at his best to win the second round of the Sprintcar Racing Association series in blistering fashion.

From grid position four Goodyer eventually passed polesitter Jamie Veal with six laps to run in the 30-lap A-main to win in a dominant display.

South Australian Daniel Pestka claimed third after starting in position nine while Sydney’s Jordyn Brazier had a career-best result at the venue finishing fourth after finishing second in the last chance the B-Main.

Son of a gun Marcus Dumesny also negotiated the tricky track to race from 20th start to finish fifth while fellow Sydneysider Alex Orr was sixth and the last car on the lead lap.

In front of a strong crowd Veal worked through the field with class and was setting a solid pace lapping mostly in 10.5 second laps as Goodyer shadowed him after getting by Queensland’s Jy Corbett, who was the surprise packet of the night in trying conditions.

“It was quite a demanding track out there tonight. It’s cool to bring the car home in one piece,” Goodyer said.

“That was a brand new car and it’s good to have the speed in the car straight away.”

In a race of attrition there was no shortage of crashes with more than half the 20-car field not finishing.

Brock Hallett’s race was over early when he broke a shock absorber entering turn one after rolling his car just two laps down.

This seemed to set off a chain reaction of retirees including, Glen Sutherland, Chad Ely, Rusty Hickman, V8 Supercars driver Cam Waters, Tate Frost, Brett Milburn, Jy Corbet, Bobby Daly and Ryan Jones while Daniel Sayer didn’t start.Heat winners were: Glen Sutherland, Brett Milburn, Jy Corbet and Lachie McHugh.

Earlier in qualifying, Goodyer set the overall fastest one lap time of 10.249 seconds of the 41 cars entered from Hallett (10.315), Veal (10.369) and Pestka (10.664).

The C&H Trucking sponsored Pro Sprints action was again solid and Queenslander Lachlan McHugh led home teammate Jordan Rae in a famous victory for popular car-owner Domain Ramsay of Geelong.

They both proved very good all evening to defeat Jamie Veal in the 20 lap  feature driving the Mat and Renae Eastham car with veteran Dennis Jones and Steven Loader filling the top five.

Former national champion Kye Walters turned on a masterclass to win the 20-lap VMPA Tritech Lubricants feature race.

Walters and Dylan Barrow now locked down the front row and it didn’t take long before Walters made the race his own.

He set a strong pace and quickly pulled away to easily lead from Barrow and would storm home to win the feature with Lachy Fitzpatrick close behind and Scott Angus in third. Matt Gerlach and Brad Warren made up the top five whilst Kasey Garlick, Daniel Simpson, Bella Rizzoli and Shayne Roycroft were the final finishers.

The next meeting at Premier Speedway will be on Saturday, November 18 with round four of the SRA Sprintcars series and the time-honoured Jack Willsher Cup for Formula 500s.

For full race results please visit

Photo credit: Aidan Freeman Photography

Ends release.