Thundering V8 powered Late Models to invade Premier Speedway

Posted by Michael
Posted on 23 Feb, 2023

Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway, Warrnambool is set for two huge nights of V8 powered Late Model action this Friday and Saturday night, February 24 & 25 for the 2023 Belkblast Protective Coatings Australian Late Model Championship.

Late Models have mammoth power at their disposal with an exceptional power to weight ratio which is comparable to Formula 1 cars. They are an exciting division to watch through their unique corner sliding technique and their ability to wheel stand on the straights.

The 2023 Australian Late Model Championship has attracted over 40 Late Models from across six states of Australia with only Northern Territory absent due to the division not active in this state.

Current national champion Kye Blight from Western Australia has entered along with multiple State Title holder and previous Australian Championship winner at Premier Speedway Callum Harper from Tasmania.

In fact, five out of the six current State Title winners will be competing at this weekend’s Australian Championship at Premier Speedway.

Victoria is well represented with nine drivers including Warrnambool local Fiona Verhoeven.

Western Australia drivers have dominated the Late Model Australian Championship since its inception from the 2001/02 season with a Western Australia driver having won thirteen out of the nineteen Australian Late Model Championships held to date. This weekend there are eleven drivers competing.

The event format on Friday has Late Models competing in Time trials, two rounds of heats, followed by twin Preliminary Mains.

Wingless Sprints and AMCA Nationals are the supports for Friday with AMCA Nationals making their first appearance of the season.

Saturday will include a third round of heats for the Late Models, a pole shuffle for the top eight cars and the Championship mains culminating in a twenty four car field over 40 laps to determine the 2023 Belkblast Protective Coatings Australian Late Model Champion.

Pro-Sprints (LS and 360 powered Sprintcars) are on Saturday nights program which is a round of the C&H Trucking Series.

Public gates will open at 4.00pm with on-track action commencing from 5.30pm.

Tickets can be purchased at or can be purchased at the gate from 4.00 pm on race day.